• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Announcing the winners of the 2022 Whiting Awards.

    Emily Firetog

    April 6, 2022, 7:00am

    Tonight, in a ceremony at the New York Historical Society hosted by Maggie Nelson, the Whiting Foundation announced the ten new Whiting Award winners, an award “designed to recognize excellence and promise in a spectrum of emerging talent.” The award comes with a monetary prize of $50,000 which aims to give “most winners their first chance to devote themselves full time to their own writing, or to take bold new risks in their work.” Past winners include Colson Whitehead, Anne Boyer, Jericho Brown, Mitchell S. Jackson, Yiyun Li, Ocean Vuong and Daniel Alarcón.

    The 2022 Whiting Award winners are:

    Claire Boyles, author of Site Fidelity (Fiction)
    Rita Bullwinkel, author of Belly Up (Fiction)
    Ina Cariño, author of Feast, (Poetry)
    Anthony Cody, author of Borderland Apocrypha (Poetry)
    Anaïs Duplan, author of Blackspace: On the Poetics of an Afrofuture (Nonfiction)
    Alexis Pauline Gumbs, author of Undrowned: Black Feminist Lessons from Marine Mammals (Nonfiction)
    Megha Majumdar, author of A Burning (Fiction)
    Jesse McCarthy, author of Who Will Pay Reparations on My Soul? (Nonfiction)
    Nana Nkweti, author of Walking on Cowrie Shells (Fiction)
    Claire Schwartz, author of Civil Service (Poetry)

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: